Archive for Analytics

How to Filter by Geography With Google Analytics Profile

Analytics, Blogson January 28th, 2013No Comments

Google Analytics Profile allows Marketers to segment the traffic based on location. For most website, 2-3 countries would be contributing towards most of the revenue. Instead of filtering Google Analytics with custom segments, it is a better idea to create profiles for your top five target markets.

Here is the step-by-step tutorial:

1) Login to your Analytics Account and select your website

2) Click the New Profile Button

Google Analytics Profile

3) Give an appropriate Name. Preferably <Website Name> <Country Code>

Like ByteFive US

 Google Analytics Profile Name

4) Click the Create Profile button

5) Once the profile has been created, click the Filters tab and add New Filter

Create Filters Google Analytics

6) Give a Filter’s Name: Preferably the Country Code. In this case, “US”

Google Analytics Filters

7) Select Custom Filter Type and Pick “Include”

8) Select ‘Country’ as the Filter Field

9) Enter  ‘United States’ as the Filter Pattern

10) Pick ‘No’ for Case Sensitive Field and Save the Filter

Wait for a couple of hours and now statistics for visitors from United States will be recorded in the default profile and in ‘US’ profile, too.


Another advantage is that for each profile, you can create 20 Goals. Therefore, if you have exhausted the number of goals in your default profile, creating custom profiles can help you workaround the goal restriction. 

Goals in Google Analytics

Add Location specific goals. For example, if you are targeting a product only for the US audience, the Goals can be set accordingly. 

First Interaction vs Last Interaction: Best Marketing Channels

Analytics, Blogson January 24th, 2013No Comments

Last Interaction vs First InteractionGoogle Analytics has introduced Attribution Modelling. This has helped marketers learn more about Last Interactions, First Interaction and Assisted Conversions (More on this in another tutorial). But let us look at the difference between first interaction and last interaction. The Marketing channel that introduced the visitor to your website just before the conversion is categorized under Last Interaction and the channel that first introduced the visitor to your website is the First Interaction channel.

Marketers have often puzzled about the value of various marketing channels. Let us look at various marketing channels in terms of conversion, and analyse the First and Last Interactions for each of them.


1) Pay Per Click Advertising (PPC)

With the right account structure and conversion tracking, PPC Channels gives marketers the ability to calculate the Return on Investment to the very last dollar. Marketers can guess the intent of the customer and customize the offer accordingly (by following PPC Ads Best Practices). After the click, conversion depends on the alignment between the offer in the Ad and the one provided in the landing page. It also depends on TRUST.

Sales don’t happen even if the Ads and landing pages are optimized. Familiarity with the Brand is a big factor in conversion. Trust Logos help to a certain extent but creating Brand Awareness is the key. 

First Interaction: through PPC Ads familiarizes the customer with the brand. If a related keyword triggers the Ad, then chance for conversion increases. 

Last Interaction: through PPC Ads can enable conversion at a later stage if the experience through the interaction has been satisfactory.

2) Search

Ranking for a keyword depends on the domain and page authority. If you are an authority in your niche, Search Engines will prefer to rank your web page to your competitors. This is not an easy task and requires focus on editorial and keywords, and would take years to obtain market dominance. 

Google favours brands, small or big. If your focus is not on building a brand, eventually your competitors will be more influential in all the marketing channels. By focussing on content and customer’s problems, Businesses can translate content creation to higher search traffic and more influence.

One Disadvantage is that Businesses will have less control over which keywords attract the visitors to the page. Although you might have done your keyword research and created the page accordingly, Google might consider your page relevant for other keywords too. The goals defined might not be relevant for this segment of visitors.

First Interaction: through Search traffic is the most valuable form of interaction. By satisfying the customers with a solution, the Brand is engrained in their mind. The visitors will then enable spreading your brand through Social Media, click your PPC Ad if the offer is relevant and might link to your article if it solves their problem.

Last Interaction: through Search traffic has to be analysed in detail. With the “Not Provided” secure search keyword taking over most visits, it becomes extremely difficult for marketers to customize the offer according to customer’s search intent. A workaround would be to test multiple offers in the page (with different anchor texts) and find the best converting call to Action. 

From an influence point of view, First Interaction in Search traffic has the potential to influence conversion in all other channels.

3) Links

The Quality of the traffic from Links depends a lot on the niche that you are competing. Links from directories and general websites tend to have very little value in terms of conversion. If the linking does not happen without any coordination (which is normally the case), the intended audience for the article might change according to the context in which the link is placed, resulting in lower conversion.

However, if links are placed in context, the audience from another network is introduced to your content, and if your content solves the customer’s problem, the visit can result in a loyal following and even result in conversion. 

First Interaction: If the link is placed in proper context, the first interaction can be extremely useful. However, if a link is placed in a related site, without understanding the context or purpose of the article, the visitor experience will be poor that can result in brand aversion.

Last Interaction: Conversion resulting from Links can be analysed in detail and conclusions reached, after understanding the context of the link. A similar placement can be sought from other partner or related sites.

4) Social Media

Although the Quality of Social Media traffic depends on the timing of your marketing message, the network that you have built and the clarity of the message, you have a better control over how to compose the message. 

First Interaction: through Social Media and its influence depends on the influencer. 

How influential is the brand/authority who recommended (Liked, Re-tweeted or +ed) your page? 

Does the influencer’s audience intersect with that of yours?

Let us say that the Influencer is an SEO. Your blog is about PPC. There is more likelihood that the SEOs would also be interested in PPC. 

Understanding how messages propagate in Social Media is the key in evaluating this marketing channel.


Search>PPC> Social Media>Links

Search traffic has the most influence in First Interaction. It defines Last Interaction in other marketing channels too.

PPC gives you greater control over aligning the customer’s search intent with your offer; a great marketing channel for Last Interaction.

Social Media is good for First Interaction if your content can deliver the promise. Not a good channel for Last Interaction.

Carefully placed links can be a useful Last Interaction channel. However, marketers have very little control over the context of the placement, and therefore this channel ranks lowest among all the other marketing channels.

What has been your experience with each of the marketing channels? Share your thoughts in the Comments section below! 


If you want expert help in analyzing First Interaction vs Last Interaction, contact us or you can call us at: India (Ph): +91 9497189032, UK (Ph): +44 (0)20-3371-9976 or US (Ph): +1 650-491-0004

ByteFive provides Internet Marketing Services (Search Engine Optimization (SEO), Search Engine Marketing (SEM), Develop processes and best practices for Internet Marketing, Manage and Analyze Web Analytics packages, Perform Landing page Optimization, Manage E-Mail Newsletter, Perform Competitor Research, Create & market Content, and provide customized training to help you achieve your revenue and business goals.

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How to Create Google Analytics custom reports (Basics)

Analytics, Blogson August 22nd, 2012No Comments

Google Analytics has evolved into a complex analytic software. There are tons of data for analysis.  But when it comes to key metrics that matches your business objective (read this article – KPI for Websites), you don’t need all of them. Google Custom Reports is the solution.

Before we create our first custom analytics report, you have to understand the difference between Dimensions and Metrics. In Google Analytics, it can be confusing.

Dimensions describes an Object.  For example, a person can be described by various attributes like:

  • Name
  • Age
  • Occupation
  • Address

The Values associated with each dimension is the metric. For example, Address can have multiple values:

  • Building Name
  • Street
  • City
  • State
  • Country

Address (Dimension) -> Building Name, Street, City, State, Country(Metrics)

Each metric has different set of values

City – New York, Boston, Mumbai etc.

You can create reports purely based on Dimension. For example, the keyword used to reach your website is a dimension. If we want to see the list of all the keywords used by our visitors, we only need the dimension. But it doesn’t make any sense to look at keywords in isolation.  Can we get more information about time on page and conversion rate for each keyword? 

1) Log into your Google Analytics account and click the website that you are tracking

2) Go to the Custom Reporting section and click the New Custom Report Button

New Custom Report

3) For this tutorial, we will create a Custom Report that will map the keywords to each page title.

4) Provide an easily identifiable name for the report

Keyword to Page Title

You can create multiple tabs in the same report but for simplicity, we will be using a single tab.

5) In Type: Click the Flat Table view

6) Select Dimensions. We will select two dimensions: Page Title and Keyword.


Bonus Tip: The Dimensions and Metrics are categorized by default. To save time, arrange the variable from A-Z by selecting the ‘Display as alphabetical list’

Display in Alpahabetical List Custom Reports 

7) Select Metrics: Now let us select the metrics that would make the data meaningful.

Let us assume that the page that we are analysing is a tutorial and provides great value to the reader.  The metrics that we choose are

a) Average Time on Page

b) Visits/Page

c) Goal Completed (Read how to add goals in Google Analytics )

There are other metrics that are effective but we are focussing on the bare minimum that gives us a quick idea about how our readers are consuming and interacting with the page.

8) Set Filters: After adding the three metrics – set filters to include organic search and exclude visits from logged in Google users.

Set Filters in Google Analytics

9) Select Profiles: Select the profiles where you want to use Custom ‘Map Keyword to Page Title’ analytics report and click save.

10) Filter by Custom Report: Select the report from Custom Reporting and voila your analytics data will be customized according to the Dimensions and Metrics that you chose.


Final Custom Report Columns

How to exclude Admin IPs from Analytics (Google and GetClicky)

Analytics, Blogson August 13th, 2012No Comments

Analytic software does not ignore admin and team visits by default. You have to create filters to ignore the visits. In Google Analytics, filters can be set to exclude IP address visits, and report visits only from a subdomain or directory. 

Steps to create a Filter to ignore team and admin visits in GA

1) Under Admin, click the Filters tab

Filter Manager - Google Analytics

2) Click ‘New Filter’ button and enter an appropriate name – “Exclude Admin”

3) Select ‘Custom Filter’ and enter the action “Exclude IP addresses” 

Custom Filters

4) To include all the IP range, Google has created a tool to generate the regex for the IPs (Click here)

5) Enter the first and last IP address for your organization and click ‘Generate RegEx

IP Regex

6) Copy the Regular Expression and paste it in the Filter pattern mentioned in 3)

7) Select the profile, where you want the filter, and click Add. The selected profile will be shown as below:

Profiles Selected

8) Click Save 

Google analytics will exclude visits from all the IPs mentioned in the range.

Steps to create a Filter to ignore team and admin visits in Clicky

1) Visit Preferences-> Visitor Tags and Filters

2) Enter the IP range and give an appropriate name 


3) Select “Do not log visits from this IP / UID.”

4) Select “Global” and click ‘Submit’

Understanding utm_source, utm_medium and utm_campaign

Analytics, Blogson June 20th, 2012No Comments

With advanced segmentation, it has become easier to track visits from various campaign in Google Analytics. But marketers and agencies still use utm_source, utm_campaign and utm_medium to track click through of urls

What is the difference between utm_source, utm_campaign and utm_medium?

utm_source: As the name suggests this custom variable allows marketers to track the source that is sending the visits. If you have partnered with a website then you can track visits from the website using

Points to remember for utm_source

1) You cannot use quotes after utm_source=

2) There should not be any space between the variable, “=” sign or the variable value

3) The variable value is case sensitive

In the above example, F1gmat is different from F1GMAT

utm_medium: This variable is used to track the advertising medium like email, Banner Ad or Pay per Click Ads. 

Points to remember for utm_medium

1) Use ampersand(&) to combine the custom variables

For example, in the above case, let us assume that we are tracking visits from F1GMAT’s Email newsletter then the tracking url will be:

2) Like in any custom variables do not use quotes

3) Do not include space between the variable, “=” sign or the variable value

utm_campaign: This variable is used to track a campaign at a higher level. Let us say that you want to track the campaigns of “X” Business School from F1GMAT, we can use the name of the Business School like:

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Points to remember for utm_campaign

1) If you are placing your products in your partner’s site then you can include the product’s name or if the campaign is run every quarter or every month, then you can use names like “Jan2012”, “Feb2012” etc. or use the name of the quarter like “Q12012” “Q22012” etc.

2) Like in any custom variables do not use quotes

3) Do not include space between the variable, “=” sign or the variable value

Please note that the above three custom variables (utm_source, utm_medium and utm_campaign) are mandatory when you are creating custom urls. The order of the usage is not important. There are two more optional Google Analytics custom campaign variables:

1) Utm_term: This custom variable is used to tag paid keywords. This variable has become irrelevant with the integration of Google analytics and adwords.

2) Utm_content: This custom variable can be used to track two versions of a call to action.

For example: In your newsletter if you are doing A/B testing where the first version has the Link with the call to action “Sign Up Now” and the second version has the link with the call to action “Sign Up”. To differentiate and track which call to action is more effective, we can use the custom variable in the newsletter as:

Version 1

Version 2

To make things easier for you, Google has provided a URL Builder 

If you want expert help in tracking urls in Google Analytics, contact us or you can call us at: India (Ph): +91 9497189032, UK (Ph): +44 (0)20-3371-9976 or US (Ph): +1 650-491-0004

ByteFive provides Internet Marketing Services (Search Engine Optimization (SEO), Search Engine Marketing (SEM), Develop processes and best practices for Internet Marketing, Manage and Analyze Web Analytics packages, Perform Landing page Optimization, Manage E-Mail Newsletter, Perform Competitor Research, Content Creation and Marketing) and Training to help you achieve your revenue and business goals.

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How to use Custom Variables in Google Analytics?

Analytics, Blogson June 5th, 2012No Comments

Each industry tracks its own analytic variables to measure key performance indicators. For e-commerce site it would be like “How many customers used the Holiday Discount Coupons”, for blogs it would be “The number of returning visitors after they have read a popular blog post”. Depending on your industry, you can create and track custom variables in Google Analytics. 

Why I need custom variables when I can use user segment?

User segments as the name suggests can only track variables at a visitor level. Also, you cannot track multiple values for the same variable. For example, if you want to track a variable LessThan40 (all visitors below the age of 40). Now you can’t store separate value for this variables based on Gender. Say all female visitors less than 40 or all male visitors less than 40. Of course, you can track it as separate variables but then it would be cumbersome to manage and track all variables, based on slight variations.

How can custom variables solve the problem?

To solve tracking multi-valued variables and to get details at visitor, session or page level, you need to use Custom Variables

Can you explain the difference between visitor, session and page level custom variables?

Visitor Level Custom Variables: can track clients that have visited your site. It can include the browser type, the device used to access the page(Computer/tablet device/mobile phone), the demographic information about the visitor, source of visit and other visitor level details that you see in Google Analytics(under Audience section of the new Google Analytics).

Session Level Custom Variables:  can track all events for which the client was active in your site. This variable is useful to track the user path in the conversion funnel. Has the user added your product in the shopping cart and left? Did they reach your contact page in that session? You can track micro-conversions with this variable.

Page Level Custom Variables: can track interactions like visit /a click/video view/Ajax event/flash event or any page specific interactions.

What code should I add to track custom variables?

All you have to do is to add one line of JavaScript code to make custom variables work

_setCustomVar(index, name, value, opt_scope)

index (required): refers to the slots where the custom variables can be placed. As of 2012, Google analytics allows only 5 slots so the index can have values ranging from 1-5. A variable in one slot cannot be reused in another slot.

name (required): refers to the name of the custom variable. The variable can only be a string and it is visible in the top level custom variable report in Google analytics panel. 

value (required): refers to the value of the variable, which is associated with the variable name. Remember the variable name-value is a key-value pair. Any number of values can be paired with the custom variable. This is where the issue that we have discussed in user-segment can be solved. You can include both male and female as values for the key –‘gender’.

OPT_SCOPE (optional): refers to the scope of the custom variable. There are three levels: 1 (visitor-level), 2 (session-level), 3 (page-level). The default scope is page-level.

What is the asynchronous JavaScript code to implement Custom Variables?

<script type="text/javascript"><![CDATA[

var _gaq = _gaq || [];

_gaq.push(['_setAccount', 'UA-AccountNumber']);





(function() {

var ga = document.createElement('script'); ga.type = 'text/javascript'; ga.async = true;

ga.src = ('https:' == document.location.protocol ? 'https://ssl' : 'http://www') + '';

var s = document.getElementsByTagName('script')[0]; s.parentNode.insertBefore(ga, s);


// ]]>


How are Custom Variables tracked by Google and how can you make sure that the data tracked is accurate?

When a custom variable is set, the data is sent to Google Analytics server via a .GIF image request. This means that for page visits, after the last page visit, if a custom variable is set, that value will not be recorded by Google Analytics.

In order to avoid such scenarios, always set the custom variables before the _trackPageview() function like:



What are the limitations of custom variables?

The number of slots is limited to 5, which means that for a custom variable type if all the slots are filled, the data in the slot will be overridden with the latest variable value.

How can I see the custom Variable values in Google Analytics?

In Old Google Analytics: Click Visitors->Custom Variables

Custom Variables in Old Google Analytics

In New Google Analytics: Click Audience-> Demographics-> Custom Variables

Custom Variables New Google Analytics

If you want help in setting up Custom Variables for your website, contact us or you can call us at: India (Ph): +91 9497189032, UK (Ph): +44 (0)20-3371-9976 or US (Ph): +1 650-491-0004

ByteFive provides comprehensive Internet Marketing Services and Training in Search Engine Optimization, Search Engine Marketing (PPC Campaign Creation, Management and Optimization), Developing processes and best practices for Internet Marketing, Managing and Analyzing Web Analytics,  Landing page Optimization, E-Mail Newsletter Management, Competitor Research, Content Creation and Content Marketing.

Which Traffic Source has the best ROI?

Analytics, Blogs, Conversion Rate Optimizationon May 20th, 2012No Comments

Websites get visitors from various sources – Direct Traffic, Search Engines,  Social Media or referring sites. Each Business has its own valuable traffic  source. Understanding how visitors from each source behave in your website is crucial for conversion rate optimization

 Direct Traffic: A direct traffic of 20-40% shows that the Brand is well  established in the market. Newcomers and breakout brands normally get 5-15% direct traffic. Although the percentage of direct traffic visitors is low, they are the most valuable source. Direct traffic visitors include visitors who have entered your website URL in their browser or those visits whose source (referring site/search engine keywords) cannot be determined. You will get repeat customers if your website has done a good job in solving their problem.

Social Media: Depending upon how engaged you are with your social media users, you are more likely to get 5-15% traffic from Social Media. Remember, this is not a rule but a generalization. We have observed Businesses with a focused Social Media team successfully converting visits from this source.

Referring Site: Depending on the authority of the site, the visits from referring sites can be valuable for your Business. It also depends on the relevance of the linking site. If a Medicare site is linking to a marketing blog then the traffic coming from the former might not be that valuable. Relevance is the key.

Search Engines: For well-established sites that constantly create good content, this would be the primary traffic source. For such brands, search engine visitors can comprise of 65-70% of the overall traffic. Although the conversion rate (in percentage) is low with search engine visitors, Businesses will have a better opportunity to position their products according to the visitor's search intent, providing a seamless user experience for them.

So where should you invest your internet marketing efforts on: SEO, Social Media Marketing, Link Building or Brand Building? 

Google has stressed on the importance of building a brand with your content and internet marketing efforts. Give equal importance to Social Media and Link Building and a much higher effort on Content creation and on-page optimization. With great content and consistent internet marketing efforts, visitors will reach your website through search engines and if your content is providing value for them the they will share your page or link to your website. Ultimately your content will play a crucial role in building a brand, which in turn would increase direct traffic and ultimately a higher conversion.

If you want us to analyze your traffic and help you develop a comprehensive Internet Marketing strategy, contact us or you can call us at: India (Ph): +91 9497189032, UK (Ph): +44 (0)20-3371-9976 or US (Ph): +1 650-491-0004

ByteFive provides comprehensive Internet Marketing Services and Training in Search Engine Optimization, Search Engine Marketing (PPC Campaign Creation, Management and Optimization), Developing processes and best practices for Internet Marketing, Managing and Analyzing Web Analytics,  Landing page Optimization, E-Mail Newsletter Management, Competitor Research, Content Creation and Content Marketing.

Setting Goals in Google Analytics

Analytics, Blogson May 20th, 2012No Comments

Once you have set your campaign and revenue goals, the next step in your ‘Marketing process’ is adding goals in Analytics. 

1) Go to Analytics Settings-> Click Edit Profile

2) Click Add Goal 

3) You can set upto 20 Goals for a Single Profile (Website) – 4 sets of 5 goals each

20 Goals in Google Analytics

There are three types of Goals

a) URL Destination: Most web portals that focus on lead generation use this Goal. Let us say that we want to measure the number of people who have signed up for the Newsletter. Create a unique URL that would be shown to the users once they sign up for the newsletter. 

In the below example the unique url is /thankyou.html

Google Analytics URL Destination

With this goal you can get a clear picture on the value of traffic from various distribution channels – Search Engines, Partner sites and Social Media. By analyzing the data for 3-6 months, you can make a decision to suspend, initiate or intensify marketing efforts in each of your distribution channels. read more

How to define Key Performance Indicators for your websites

Analytics, Blogs, Internet Marketingon May 19th, 2012No Comments

Key Performance Indicators are the most important metric for your online Business. It shows how well you are doing against your Business Objectives. The type of Business defines your objective. 

If you are in a B2C Business then selling your product is one of the key Business objectives. 

If you are in a B2B Business then downloading case study, downloading whitepapers, subscribing  to your newsletter, signing up for a webinar  and signing up for a free demonstration that will eventually lead to sales are some of the Business objectives.

If you are a content site then then interaction with advertisers’ Ads and content would be one of the key Business objectives.

Key Performance Indicators would help Businesses measure how close they are in reaching their Business objectives. For example:

B2C (Business to Consumer)

For an e-commerce site (B2C) the key performance indicators would be: 

Conversion rate: The rate of sales to visits is a key metric in e-commerce sites. 

If for every 1000 visits 10 visitors buy a product then the conversion rate is (10/1000)x 100 = 1%

To measure where the conversion is getting affected, other metrics like shopping cart abandonment rate can also be used. 

Average Order Value: This metric is the ratio of total revenue by total orders

If on Mondays an e-commerce site earns $50000 with 100 orders, then the average order value is $50000/100 = $500

Revenue per Visitor: Another important metric for e-commerce sites is the revenue per visitor. 

If for every 100 visitors you are earning $500 then revenue per visitor would be $500/100 = $5

B2B (Business to Business)

For a B2B Business lead generation is an important activity. Metrics that would help Businesses measure this activity are crucial. The key performance indicators for B2B Business would be:

Subscription (Sign-Up) Rate: This metric is the rate of subscribers (Sign-Up) to visits

If for every 100 visits 4 subscribes to your newsletter/ sign-ups to your webinar or product demonstration then the subscription(sign-up) rate is (4/100)x100 = 4%

Effective Subscription (Sign-Up) Rate: This metric is the ratio of active subscribers to total subscribers. This rate is an important metric as only active subscribers would eventually buy. Cleaning your lead database by validating the leads and evaluating whether the leads find your services relevant for their Business is crucial. Some leads might no longer be associated with the organization. For such cases, cleaning up invalid e-mail addresses (e-mails that have bounced) is crucial.

If for 100 subscribers, only 40 are active then the Effective Subscription Rate is 40%. An active subscriber opens your communication on a regular basis. If you are confused with what “regular” means then don’t worry. Mailing clients like Mail Chimp has a feature to rate the subscriber. Any subscriber having 4/5 rating is an active subscriber.

Effective Purchase Rate: Even for B2B Business the eventual goal is sales. Out of the active subscribers how many have purchased your product/service over the past 1 year. This means that after 1 year of regular communication, how many subscribers bought your service? For B2B Business, a one year time horizon is a standard time frame to measure the purchase rate. But remember, different Businesses have different buying cycles. You have to measure accordingly.

For 100 active subscribers you have communicated over the past 1 year, if 3 subscribers purchased your service, then the effective purchase rate is 3%

Content Sites/Blogs

In content sites, the interaction of the visitor with advertiser’s assets is a key performance indicator. The assets can include content or ads.

Click through Rate: For Banner Ads, the rate of clicks to visits on your advertiser’s ads is a metric that would help you measure the success of the ad campaign.

Video Views: Video has become an integral part of content. The brand reach can be measured with the number of times your advertiser’s video has been viewed. The number of full video view is another metric that help you find the effective number of video views.

Time Spent on Page: The time spent on your advertiser’s news release or sponsored content is an indication of your ability to bring a qualified lead to the advertiser’s message. Depending on the length of the article, anything above 3 minutes is an indication that your advertiser’s message has been well received.

Scroll Rate: Another metric that adds validity to the time spent on the page is the scroll rate. Scroll rate measures how far the visitors have scrolled the advertiser’s pages. A scroll rate above 85 %( we expect a 15% footer in websites) is a measure of how effective the content was in engaging the visitor to the very end of the article. 

If the one of the Business objectives of the content site is to capture leads then subscription rate are also considered as Key Performance Indicators.

Remember, Key Performance indicators for your Business will vary from the general KPIs mentioned above. It is important that you have a clear definition of what your Business Objectives are. Key Performance Indicators depends on that.

If you want expert help in translating Business Objectives to Key Performance Indicators, contact us or you can call us at: India (Ph): +91 9497189032, UK (Ph): +44 (0)20-3371-9976 or US (Ph): +1 650-491-0004

ByteFive provides comprehensive Internet Marketing Services and Training in Search Engine Optimization, Search Engine Marketing (PPC Campaign Creation, Management and Optimization), Developing processes and best practices for Internet Marketing, Managing and Analyzing Web Analytics,  Landing page Optimization, E-Mail Newsletter Management, Competitor Research, Content Creation and Content Marketing.

Why we are not a big fan of Google Analytics?

Analytics, Blogson April 7th, 2011No Comments

Google Analytics ProblemIf you are managing multiple blogs or websites or even a single website on which your income depends on, then it is essential that you invest in Analytics Software. Now you might ask "Why you need to invest when Google Analytics gives you all the features for free". Don't get me wrong, Google Analytics is great but use it only if you don't monitor traffic on a day to day or even on an hourly basis. We have found some annoying problems with Google Analytics:

Definition of Bounce Rate: Now I have often heard experts, even my favorite Analytics Expert – Avinash Kaushik commenting about Bounce Rate as the number of visitors reaching your site and leaving it with just one page view or in his on words "puke and leave your site " :) . But the definition is too simplistic. I can't count the numerous times when I have researched about a topic visited the site, got the exact information that I need and left the site under 30 seconds. Does that mean that the site was bad, the navigation was poor or as a user , my need was not satisfied.? No! They did a great job in serving the exact information that I was looking for. I didn't browse other pages, because I got the answer in a single page view. read more

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